Woman and child smirking at eachothher. Woman has wrapped child in a black and white wrap in a FWCC tied at shoulder.

Sarah Graveson – A new life

by Sarah Graveson

My husband and I decided in 2009 that we wanted to grow our family and have a baby. 5 years and 2 miscarriages later, we had our rainbow baby, Jonathan. The road to parenthood was long and emotionally taxing, but the result has made every tear worth it. Babywearing has become a huge part of my life as a mother for many reasons. Convenience is the reason we first started babywearing, like being able to take J to appointments at the hospital without the carseat. I mainly wanted to start wearing for ease of everyday life, for errands, being hands-free, for long Sunday mornings at church. It has become so much more to me than just convenience.

Babywearing can become a way of life. When a baby cries, it’s because they need (or want) something. I have yet to come across something with my 6 month old that a dry diaper, full belly, sleep, or wrap snuggles can’t fix. We’ve had nap strikes that ended with a wrap nap. There have been airplane rides with him screaming that were solved with some Tula snuggles. An overtired baby out during his normal naptime that was fixed with a Boba 3G. Whatever carrier we used, there has always been a sense of love, closeness, and comfort associated with it. I personally see wrapping as an art form, and I can’t wait for our future and to see what wraps will come through our lives to aid our journey. A sweet old man came up to us when I had J wrapped in a rural Walmart and said something I’ll never forget. “The best thing a mother can do for her baby is hold them close like that. Then they know that you love them.” I keep him close enough to love.

Woman and child smirking at eachothher. Woman has wrapped child in a black and white wrap in a FWCC tied at shoulder.

Leave a Reply

