Woman crouching and smiling with baby in ringsling next to older toddler. Everyone is wearing sunglasses.

Sarah Landsman – Unexpected Sanctuary

by Sarah Landsman

I always planned to babywear. Even before I knew it was called babywearing. I was excited to be able to have my hands free while holding my baby close. I still remember the first time I wore my son. I did some laundry and felt really accomplished. What I didn’t know that day was that sometime in the future I would be wearing my son in the pediatric ER because it was the only thing that would calm him down when he got suddenly sick (suspected pneumonia – he’s fine). I didn’t imagine how helpful it would be to babywear while traveling with my son. I also didn’t know that one day I would have a second baby with reflux. I was so grateful for the relief that babywearing provided him and me in the early months because it allowed me to keep him in a more vertical position and close to me. Today both of my boys are healthy and happy. We babywear while shopping or while walking the dogs. It is a normal part of our life. We also use a stroller, bikes, and wagons. All of these things help me to enjoy each day with my boys but only babywearing is there for both the highs and the lows, helping me soothe a sick or sad child or carry my children across the hot sand towards the ocean for a day at the beach.

Woman crouching and smiling with baby in ringsling next to older toddler. Everyone is wearing sunglasses.

Leave a Reply

